Thank you for using these Amazon Affiliate links to support our reading.

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Bought By Her Husband by Sharon Kendrick

Bought By Her Husband
by Sharon Kendrick
Review by TashNz

This book went to Kindle yesterday, so I thought it would be great to write a review.

Clearly known and remembered for the opening chapter, I have to say, this book must have been considered quite racy for a Harlequin Mills and Boon in 2006 when it was published.  It probably belongs in the Blaze category.  Quite funny reading Sharon's little notes about it on her facebook page here.

Fast paced, racy and full of angst, anger and revenge Bought By Her Husband is a quick read, an emotional read and one where you're left not sure quite of what to make of what one has read. (in a good way)

It's been seven years since her seperation and Victoria is in some serious debt and needs to find a way out, the only way is to get a divorce from her billionaire husband and hope the nice little sum of money she needs from it will settle everything. Alexi demands she come to Greece to settle and when she arrives it all goes haywire from there for both parties.

I like this book.  Alexi is one of the most arrogant and assholey hero's I've read in a while, and each page you do hope he redeems himself and the good side of him will shine through... He's hard to like and He's definitely unique and right up there with the toughest of tough.  I think the point of him is that his separation from Victoria has left him hard-hearted and the return of Victoria has him questioning everything he has tried to be and portray to the world.  Reluctantly agreeing to be his mistress for a week in order to secure the paltry settlement Victoria re-enters the world she has left far behind.

If I was to do anything different I would perhaps make Alexi a slightly more forgiving person, touch less assholey and I'd focus on the week they were together becasue they went from being mortal enemies to lovey lovey and we kind of missed that part of their journey as a reader.

I loved the angst, the emotion, it was a heck of a ride.

4.5 stars

Friday, August 12, 2016

His Diamond of Convenience by Maisey Yates

Review by Tash Nz

A shelf keeper!

A fanastic beginning to the story sees high society Vicoria click clack into ex MMA fighter Dimiri's gym and propose marriage, laying it out like the clear business transacion it is. Dimitiri has somehing Victoria wants and she can, in return, help him with what he needs.

Exciting story with exciting charachters. Dimitri is a hero like no other and adds an extra something to make the story unique. The complete opposite to Victoria who appears ice cold and quite snobbby as the story evolves it's clearly just her self imposed protecive layer.

With back stories that show why each person is broken and running His Diamond of Convenience is throughly enjoyable as two lost souls find their way to each other. It is a page turner and the break up is heartbreakingly emotional.

A shelf keeper!

4.5 stars for me

Friday, July 29, 2016

Eloping With Emmy

Eloping With Emmy

Liz Fielding

Eloping With Emmy by Liz Fielding

Reviewed by Helen

This is one of those stories that will make you laugh and smile throughout

Tom Brodie has been made partner in a very prestigious law firm he has worked hard to get where is he was not born with a silver spoon in his mouth, but when the other partners are away Tom is called out to help with one of the top clients and is shocked by what he is asked to do he must stop a marriage that appears to be going to happen to Emerald Carlisle Emmy as she is known to most this is going to be a fun journey for Tom and their first meeting will have you laughing out loud.

Emmy Carlisle is trying very hard to outwit her father she is an heiress and her father does a lot to keep tabs on her and stop her from getting into trouble, but when things go wrong right from the beginning of this plan, Emmy's journey is starting to be a very big roller coaster ride of ups and downs and the unwitting Tom Brodie is pulled into it.

This is such a fun fabulous story from start to finish talk about laugh and smile as Emmy and Tom journey across the UK and France falling just a little bit in love along the way there are many scrapes that Tom has to rescue Emmy from, Emmy and Tom are so alive and real you will feel like you are there with them, truly I can highly recommend this one you will not be sorry it will bring you a few hours of total pleasure and keep you smiling tis one is a total joy to read.

I have embarked on a challenge to read all of Liz Fieldings stories and am enjoying them immensely and lucky me I have a lot to catch up on. 

5/5 stars for a fun fabulous story

 Published May 3rd 2012 by Classic Romance Publishing (first published 1998)                   

Thursday, June 30, 2016

An Image of You by Liz Fielding

An Image of You by Liz Fielding
Reviewed by Helen

I really enjoyed this story it is Liz Fielding's first book for Harlequin Mills & Boon released in 1992 and wow have heroes and heroines changed a lot over the years it is beautifully written I loved the setting in Africa and MS Fielding pulled me in from the first page with the strong characters and the push and pull between the hero and heroine.

Georgette Bainbridge comes from a wealthy family and is 22 but is a bit of a rebel in her out spoken ways and her wish to stand up for the under dog and protest when needed and this gets her in a few sticky situations here and there like throwing a bag of flour over a photographer and although she escapes unscathed that time it stay firmly entrenched in her mind so when she lands up in the newspaper again her father cuts her off and sends her to Africa on a photo shoot needless to say who with, this could be a bit of a worry if he remembers her.

Lukas yes only Lukas is a photographer in his early 30's and a very good one but he sticks to himself and does a calendar for George's father once a year at various locations this time in Africa but when his assistant is injured he is sent another one none other than George and is stunned when George turns out to be female and he has the distinct feeling that he has met her before. Lukas is known to be stubborn and pig headed at times and boy does he give George a hard time but in saying that he does it more because of the attraction her feels I think and she can give just as good back at times.

There were times I could have yelled at both Lukas and George but then I remembered that this book had been released a long time a go and this type of hero and heroine and age difference were very common back then. All in all though I thoroughly enjoyed this one from start to finish Liz Fielding is a natural story teller who keeps the reader turning the pages and feeling attuned to all of the characters and their emotions in the story, this one will have you smiling as you journey with George and Lukas to a wonderful HEA and as I said I loved the setting and the story fabulous.

4/5 stars for a great story
Published February 15th 2010 by Linford (first published 1992)

Saturday, April 2, 2016

The Count of Castelfino by Christina Hollis

Review by TashNz

Nice story.  Meg arrives at her new job only to discover the Counte di Castelfino has died and his son is the new count.  Meg is there to help the old count with his tropical plants and gardens and help him realise his dreams but Gianni has no interest and wants out with the old and in with the new.  Meg really is an english rose and her warm ways help change Gianni for the better.

I liked Meg's career choice, it's not often you have a plant curator as a character and I think the setting worked perfectly to help the two fall in love.  I thought the author did a great job of bringing the two together and getting Meg to take the sting out of Gianni's view of life.

Good story which I'd recommend to those who love a bit of conflict but the heroine is just lovely.

3.5 stars
Published December 2009
Mills and Boon Sexy

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

The Italian Count's Command by Sara Wood

Taking it back to 2005
The Italian Count's Command
by Sara Wood

Ahhh!  Misunderstandings that could only be made in 2005.  Evil side charaters consisting of Dante's brother and Miranda's lazy and selfish sister...  A handsome and firey tempered Italian Count and beautiful Miranda, who selflessly loves her Count but is fighting tooth and nail to get her beloved son home with her.  Archaic demands... I Love it!  The perfect makings of a classic Retro read.

Caught in the worst compromising position Miranda could be caught in causes her husband to walkout, taking their son with him.  Exhausted from searching worldwide for them Miranda is stunned to receive a call two weeks later.  Dante summons her to Lake Como with a proposition she has not choice but to accept if she wishes to ever see her son again.

Facing a life of loveless marriage, kind hearted Miranda is sure she will be able to prove her innocence one day and decides to set about showing Dante they can be happy ever after and despite her advances being constantly thrown back in her face, Miranda hangs in there.

A great read which proably would score 1stars by everyone in this day and age, but this formula is what used to make these stories so good - the absolute opposite of my reality.  A brave heroine gosh darn it was determined to fight for what she believed in.

Loved it!  purchased for 50c at my local second hand store and worth every cent.

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Blackmailed Into The Greek Tycoon's Bed - Secrets of the Greek Isles by Carol Marinelli

Blackmailed into the Greek Tycoon's Bed
by Carol Marinelli
Blackmailed Into The Greek Tycoon’s Bed

Review by TashNz
6 Stars

If there is one book I can beg you to read, recommend for reading or shout from the rooftops you MUST read, this is it!

A fantastic beginning catapulted me into the most perfect story.  I had tears more than once (not even a slight exaggeration), I was moved, I was continually blown away by each path the story twisted and turned, I was NOT putting it down until I finished, no matter how early in the A.M it was (work next day), I absolutely loved the characters and I thought if this is the last book I ever read I will be truly happy!

The feeling one feels that they couldn't possibly start a new book until the feelings and memories of the current book fade - that was THIS book!  I have had this book on my to buy list for a long time but in my part of the world it hasn't been for sale on Kindle so I had it saved and received an email alert when it was put on sale and purchased it secondhand on a website we have in NZ called Trade Me.

Xante is a self made billionaire who is hosting the English Rugby Team at one of his hotels.  In his possession is a beautiful jeweled rose which once belonged to an English Rugby Legend.  Karin desperately wants the rose back, it's the only thing left that she has of her beloved grandfather and when the opportunity presents itself she runs like the wind... with the rose... only the wind is knocked out of her when the captain of the English rugby team sees her and hauls her back to Xante.  From there the most beautifully crafted story winds it way around my heart and completely flew me away to the world of Xante and Karin.  He saves her from scandal and they mutually help each other achieve what they want.

Twice I was brought to tears with Karin, one of those times is when he's standing in her home, discovering the sess-pit she actually lives in... another was when she describes her history, who she is, and how she's come to basically live in the library of her home.  She's so misjudged by Xante but even though there are times he is livid with her he still somehow knows there's something not quite right. I loved Xante, 100%!  The backstories were fantastic and the two completely opposite characters had spark and chemistry like no other.

I actually need to read a thesaurus so I can word this better, but from the bottom of my heart, if you love the emotional - broken - brilliant plot featuring a super duper alpha and beautifully broken heiress who you just want to have her hea, don't go past this one.

Timeless story which I give 6 stars.

Series: International Billionaire's #7 (if you're familiar with the series, the Six Nations rugby tournament is the common link.  I did forget to mention, the rugby coverage in this story was top notch and I could totally imagine the scene when they watched the game at Twickenham (especially after just watching our mighty All Blacks win the Bledisoe Cup in the weekend) but I'm not sure the changing room scene would work today because there are cameras in there nowadays)

I have read the other two stories in this book but will add their review another time (they are 5 stars too).

This edition published June 2015, original story July 2009

Kindle: here